Meet 2017’s most inspiring Women of the Future

By Shreyes Balebail 17 November 2017

From aerospace engineers to computing geniuses.

In today’s society we constantly see men winning all the awards.

At the same time, women’s successes and achievements are often overshadowed by the news of men doing similar, if not lesser things.

But thankfully that could be coming to an end, a revolution of celebrating women has started and it could help pave the way for a more equal society.

Women of the Future is one such celebration, commemorating and honouring women in various fields for the amazing work they’ve done.

Founded in 2006 by Pinky Lilani, Women of the Future was started to “provide a platform for the remarkable female talent in the UK” and, in other words, a way for us to brag about all the amazing things that women have been accomplishing.

Women of the Future founder Pinky Lilani.

Meet 2017’s Women of the Future

This year, the award took place on 15 November at the London Hilton on Park Lane, and saw some of Britain’s leading women attend.

Abbie Hutty, won in the science category for her work as a Platform Delivery Manager for the ExoMars Rover at Airbus Defense and Space.

This Rover, named ‘Bruno’, is scheduled to launch in 2020 and would be Europe’s first Mars Rover.

And Helen Newcombe won the entrepreneur award for her work founding Davy J, a company that makes swimsuits composed of 100% recycled plastic waste from the ocean and lasts longer than any other normal swimwear.

These two women are just two of the many women who were celebrated for their incredible work, from innovations and discoveries to pushing business forward and sporting success.

Here’s to hoping that these shining stars inspire even more recognition of the success of Britain’s leading women.

2017 Women of the Future winners

Arts & Culture award

Emma Mooney, Director of Communications, Northern Ballet

Business award

Kelly Cole, Services Sales Director of Africa & Europe, GE Aviation

Community Spirits award

Cristina Gavrilovic, Anti-slavery Partnership Coordinator, Essex and Kent Police

Corporate award


Entrepreneur award

Helen Newcombe, Founder & Director, Davy J

MBA Star award

Lindsey MacDonald, Managing Director, Street League

Media award

Marianne Waite, Founder, Think Designable

Mentor of the Year award

Rachel Higham, Managing Director of IT, BT

Professions award

Dr Naomi Thompson, Lecturer, Goldsmiths, University of London

Real Estate, Infrastructure & Construction award

Anna Menezes-Dowson, Head of Energy, Tesco

Technology & Digital award

Jessica Leigh Jones, Engineer, Sony

Science award

Abbie Hutty, Platform Delivery Manager, ExoMars Rover, Airbus Defence & Space

Sport award

Dr Sarah Leiter, GB Goalball Player
Alexandra Paske, Founder & Managing Director, Mintridge Events

Young Star award

Joana Baptista, Sixth Form Student, Oxford High School, Girls’ Day School Trust