Britain’s brightest finance minds band together to fight Brexit woes

By Kitty Knowles 13 September 2017

Britain's fierce finance entourage? Meet the 'FinTech Delivery Panel'.

Uncertain times require unity and sound guidance.

That’s what the newly formed FinTech Delivery Panel hopes to provide as the UK waivers in the wake of Brexit.

Launched today by Tech City UK, it brings together a who’s who of industry leaders, from institutions new and old, with the digital heads of Lloyds, RBS Barclays and Santander rubbing shoulders with entrepreneurs from the likes of FundingCircle, Starling and TransferWise.

At the head, high-profile investor Eileen Burbidge of Passion Capital will be chairing the panel towards the best outcomes possible.

But can Britain’s brightest financial minds steer the government safely through the dangers of our imminent EU departure?

“The UK and London, in particular, is the global European hub for fintech businesses,” MarketInvoice CEO Anil Stocker told The Memo. “By working collaboratively, we will boost our profile as a key hub, attract the best talent and create the most innovative solutions to tomorrow’s needs.”

“We want to ensure that the UK’s intellectual capital will be locally concentrated, globally networked and diverse,” Stocker added.

“We’re a group of entrepreneurs who are extremely ambitious and make things happen.”

That sounds like fighting talk to us.

See the full list of participants below…

FDP Member Position
Anne Boden
CEO, Starling Bank
Philip Brown
Head of Policy, LV=
Eileen Burbidge
Partner, Passion Capital (Chair of the Panel)
Claire Calmejane
Director of Innovation & Digital Centre of Excellence, Lloyds
James Chappell
CTO, Digital Shadows
Martin Cook
General Counsel, FundingCircle
Ashley Groom
External Affairs, GoCardless
Michael Harte
Group Head of Innovation, Barclays
Taavet Hinrikus
CEO and Co-Founder, TransferWise
Matt James
Head of UK Scouting, RBS Innovation and Solutions
Eamon Jubbawy COO, Onfido
Jeff Lynn CEO, Seedrs
Ed Molyneux CEO, FreeAgent
Alice Newton-Rex
Head of Product, WorldRemit
Chris Pond
Vice Chair, Financial Inclusion Commission
Paul Rippon
Co-Founder and Deputy CEO, Monzo
Lawrence Wintermeyer
CEO, Innovate Finance
James Varga
CEO, The ID Company
Sigga Sigurdardottir
Chief Customer and Innovation Officer, Santander UK
Peter Smith CEO, Blockchain
Anil Stocker
CEO, MarketInvoice
Serge Taborin
Global Innovation Director, Aviva
Will Thorne
Innovation Lead, The Channel Syndicate
Andrew Weir
Chief Scientist, HSBC